This Adsense glossary is very helpful for beginners. When a beginner starts blogging and start using Google Adsense it is very necessary for them to know some Adsenseglossary, terminology. Before using Google Adsense you should know about Adsense CTR, CPC, RPM, and more Adsense glossary and terminology.
Also Read: How To Increase Adsense Earnings in 2023
In this blog post, I will share the Adsense glossary and Adsense terminology which will help you to know more about Google Adsense and use it properly in 2023. In this article, you will find Adsense terminology, Adsense glossary, Adsense CPC, Adsense CTR and more. So to know about these Adsense terminologies, you must read this blog post completely. We use Adsense to monetize our blogs and earn money online, So you need to know what are CPC, CTR, RPM etc terms related to Adsense and how these CPC, CTR, and RPM are calculated.
Also Read: Best Adsense alternatives To consider in 2023
I have collected the Adsense glossary and Adsense terminology from the Adsense support page, you can visit this page for more information. Now, below I am sharing the Adsense glossary you should read completely.
An impression is counted for each ad request when at least one ad has begun to download to user’s device. It is the number of ad units (for content ads) or search queries (for search ads) that loaded ads. An impression is only counted after the ad has begun to download to the usrer’s device. YOu get paid for ad impressions shown on your website and blog.
CTR stands for click-through rate. CTR is the number of ad clicks divided by the number of individual ad impressions.
CTR = Clicks / Impressions
For example, if you get 10 ad clicks and 1000 ad impressions on your blog, here CTR is 1% when you get more ad clicks on your blog your CTR will increase and revenue will increase. Basically, CTR is the percentage of impressions that led to a click.
When a person clicks on an ad and complete a valuable action on the advertiser’s website like purchasing a product/service etc.
In Google Adsense CPC stands for cost per click. The CPC is the amount you earn each time a user clicks on an ad shown on your website. The CPC for an ad is determined by the advertisers.
If there is more competition then CPC increase. Some advertisers may be willing to pay more per click than others depending on what they are advertising and the competition. CPC is the main earning estimator of a blog so I have added it to this Adsense glossary.
In Adsense CPE stands for cost per engagement. With CPE bidding advertisers pay only when users actively engage with ads. Means the publishers generate earnings when users choose to engage with ads.
In Adsense CPM stands for cost per mile, means cost per 1000 impressions. Advertisers running CPM ads set their desired price per 1000 ads served and pay each time their ad appears.
As a publisher (blogger) you will generate revenue each time a CPM ad is served to your page and viewed by a user. In Adsense, auction CPM ads compete against cost per click (CPC) and they will display whichever ad is expected to generate more revenue for the publisher.
7. Ad crwaler
Acrawler or spider is the software Google users to process and index the content of a website. The Adsense crawler visits your blog to determine its content in order to provide relevant ads.
8. Destination URL
The destination URL in Adsense is the URL to which the ad links. This is the page users see when they click through to an advertiser’s site from an ad. You will need to know this URL if you would like to add it to your URL filter list and block an advertiser’s ads from appearing on your blog.
9. Funnel clicks
A funnel click is counted when a user clicks on a non-ad unit and some action is triggered. For example, the user clicks a related search term inside a related search unit and it has taken to a search landing page.
10. Impression RPM
The impression revenue per thousand impressions (RPM) is the average earnings per one thousand impressions.
Impression RPM = (Estimated earnings / Impressions) * 1000
11. Page RPM
Page RPM (Revenue Per Mile) is the revenue generated per thousand page view. Page RPM in Adsense is calculated by dividing your estimated earnings by the number of page views you received, then multiply by 1000.
Page RPM = (Estimated earnings / No. of page views) * 1000
For example, if you earned $5 from 80 page views, then your page RPM WOULD BE $62.5
12. Page CTR
The page clickthrough rate (CTR) is the number of ad clicks divided by the number of page views.
Page CTR = Clicks / Page views
For example, if you received 2 clicks for 250 page views, your page CTR would be 0.8%. (2/250=0.8%)
13. Publisher ID
Your publisher ID is the unique identifier for your AdSense account. To protect the security of your account and make it easier for us to find account-specific details, you may be asked to provide this ID when you communicate with Google. Your publisher ID looks like this:
14. Page view
A page view is what Google counts in your reports every time a user views a page displaying Google ads. We will count one-page view regardless of the number of ads displayed on that page.
For example, if you have a page displaying three ad units and it is viewed twice, you will generate two page views.
15. Revenue share
Each AdSense publisher receives a percentage of the revenue recognized by Google in connection with the display of ads on their site. This percentage is referred to as the revenue share, and is displayed within your AdSense account.
You can check revenue share from your Adsense dashboard.
In this blog post, I have tried my best to share an Adsense glossary. I hope this Adsense glossary was helpful for you to understand and use Adsense properly.
Thank you guys for reading this blog post completely. You can connect with us on Facebook, and Telegram and subscribe to our YouTube channel for regular videos on Blogging, Affiliate marketing and online money making